time thieves

activity icon2

We both have day jobs, us Myogis and for me this involves going to an office sometimes.  Yesterday, we found that we’d had a burglary over the weekend and thousands of pounds worth of equipment had been stolen.  The subsequent investigation showed that it had been hidden from sight, secured with a combination lock of stout manufacture in a heavy cabinet behind shuttered windows and doors and was, thankfully, insured.

And it made me think about the efforts we go to in order to safeguard the materials things in life while leaving other much more treasured aspects at risk of loss.  And I’m particularly thinking of time.  As we get older, the value of time increases exponentially yet we seem to be able to do little to safeguard it. And in the face of the growing hoards of time thieves that stalk us malevolently, this is reckless.

‘Improve my time management’ is always at the top of my to-do list.  But the new wireless router that installs in 3 simple steps takes almost two hours (53 minutes of which are taken up on the ‘phone to the ‘experts’ who also struggle with the vagaries of the subnet mask), and the journey to work and back takes a further hour each day because of long-term roadworks.  No longer can I visit my bank, instead spending endless afternoons in a ‘phone queue listening to the hits of the 80s (which I didn’t appreciate even then), and I’m also, don’t forget, relentlessly formatting the incompatibilities of various ‘new’ software packages.  They’re always there in the shadows those time thieves, and sometimes it seems that nothing less than an entire withdrawal from battle with them will do.

Thankfully, there is yoga.  Focus, presence, space, breath – and gratitude.  And as soon as I spread my mat before me, the shadow retreats and with it, the clock-watching and the fear. One small strip of latex has this effect – oh, and the little bit of fairy dust.

One thought on “time thieves

  1. Greate article. Keep writing such kind of info on your
    page. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

